Distribution: General C/C.01/20/RES/02/Final

**ORIGINAL: ENGLISH** 

5 October 2020

**COUNCIL RESOLUTION: 20-02** 

## Membership of the Joint Public Advisory Committee

THE COUNCIL:

RECOGNIZING that Article 8 of the North American Agreement on Environmental Cooperation (NAAEC) established that the Commission shall comprise a Council, a Secretariat and a Joint Public Advisory Committee (JPAC);

ACKNOWLEDGING that Article 16 of the NAAEC provided that JPAC shall comprise 15 members and that each Party shall appoint an equal number of members;

NOTING that the *Environmental Cooperation Agreement* (ECA) among the Governments of Canada, the United States of America and the United Mexican States entered into force on July 1, 2020 and superseded the NAAEC on that date;

FURTHER NOTING that Article 2 of the ECA continues the Commission and that ECA Article 6 provides that JPAC shall be comprised of nine members with four-year terms, unless the Council decides otherwise, with an equal number of nationals to be appointed by each Party;

## HEREBY:

DECIDES that each Party shall adjust its JPAC membership consistent with ECA Article 6 no later than 180 days after the ECA's entry into force under the provisions of its Article 17.

APPROVED BY THE COUNCIL:	
Catherine Stewart	
Government of Canada	
Rodolfo Godinez Rosales	
Government of the United Mexican States	
Jane Nishida	
Government of the United States of America	a